How I ended up with a 410 H Bit rambling - sorry!

Marshall JVM Discussion - topics that are not in any of the sub categories, please respect this to keep the forum well organised and so make it easier to find stuff you are interested in :-)

Moderators: Dark Horse, jimsreynolds, Jackie, Andy

Jim
Beginner
Beginner

How I ended up with a 410 H Bit rambling - sorry!

Post by Jim » Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:18 am

Hi,
Jim from the Isle of Wight here with a few musings on my jvm 410h and what led me to it. I started playing guitar aged about 11 with an “Eros” Les Paul Custom copy, for no other reason than Marc Bolan had been pictured with a Les Paul Custom (One belonging to Ringo Starr I believe, Marc’s own Les Paul is well documented elsewhere) I got my Dad to build me an amp, which he did. My Father knew Jim Marshal when Marshall was in Hanwell and dad had a shop called Technical suppliers Limited in the Goldhawk Road, Shepherds Bush and used to do the odd repair and occasionally supply valves to Marshall in Hanwell. RIP to both of them.
That old amp Dad built me lasted for years, even when I started playing bass…Then I got a job! I had started to listen to a bit more music than just Mr. Bolan and I loved Thin Lizzy and Scott Gorham (I think it was) was using four Marshall 2104 50 watt combo amps linked together and my local music shop had one. I saved and saved and bought it. From that moment on until the last few months I stopped using any FX, just relying on the guitar and amp. I was using a K flying V with active pickups and an Aria RSX 70, again active. Then one day the amp died. I know now it was the transformer, but the shop I put it into frightened me with stories of how it would cost more than the amp was worth and gave me £50.00 for it…