JVM Forum

All about Marshall's JVM Series

Please help us with the forum running costs
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 12:06 pm
Google Search the forum ... note that google has to index stuff before it shows up in the search, so it will not instantly show results for new posts

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 9:22 am 
Beginner
Beginner

Hey guys it's me again,and I'm going to change my tubes because the V5 tube has died and since I bought my amp used,I think I'm going to take it to guitarcenter and have them retube it for me.What tubes do you guys suggest,I really don't know much about what the different tubes sound like because I'm only 14 years old and I'm very new with tube amplifiers.What do you suggest??
Thanks,
Justin

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:33 pm 
Private Parties

Funny enough, I first recommend you don't take it to Guitar Center to have it retubed. They don't always carry the best tubes and only God knows what their "techs" are like-If they even have any. However, you can use them as a resource. I called them and found out who they use for any repair work on Marshalls in my area. Given the agreement they have with Marshall, they have to use a certified Marshall tech and they should willingly give you the phone number for a tech in your area. Also, check the Marshall website and search to find service centers for your amp.

For tubes, SED winged C EL34 for the power amp. For the preamp, it's kinda a personal choice thing. Many people on this forum like different tubes. I use mostly JJ 12ax7's in mine. Although, I recently tried a Groove Tubes Gold Series 12ax7 in the V1 position and like the result. In truth, it's not a huge difference for me from the JJ to the Groove Tube but there are many other manufacturers that could give you a more definative difference in tone, feel, brightness, etc.