Trouble changing JVM Default Midi Channel to 6 (or other)

Stuff that alters the sound going in or out of the amp, JVM Loops, XLR Out, Line Out, Stereo setup with 2 amps, Midi

Moderators: Dark Horse, jimsreynolds, Jackie, Andy

Post Reply
ramonetl
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 11:19 pm

Trouble changing JVM Default Midi Channel to 6 (or other)

Post by ramonetl » Sat Jun 02, 2018 12:27 am

Hi all, I have a JVM410H head that I previously was using with the footswitch. I got an ES-8 and already have my Mesa working with an external Midi unit but I cannot for the life of me get the damn jvm midi channel changed. I follow the instructions to hold the midi button while I turn on the amp but it doesnt flash. There is like a brief red light and so it never gets the midi message to reset the channel to 6 which because of my configuration I cant use 1. None of my other hardware has issues and no matter what I try i cannot get it to blink so that I can send the message to change the channel to 6. I have already reset the factory defaults and this is driving me crazy. Anyone else do this and am I missing something? There is not much to the manual and the instructions are straightforward. They just dont work for me and Im feeling dumb and frustrated. Thanks. Peter

User avatar
gtrjunior
Private Parties
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:50 pm

Re: Trouble changing JVM Default Midi Channel to 6 (or other)

Post by gtrjunior » Sat Jun 02, 2018 4:19 pm

Possible bad midi cable?

User avatar
Andy
Administrator
Posts: 5041
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:59 pm

Re: Trouble changing JVM Default Midi Channel to 6 (or other)

Post by Andy » Sat Jun 02, 2018 11:42 pm

this post might be useful for you

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8489&p=88734 though seems both devices want to be the master / easiest to set up a certain way
::: JVM410 head,modded:- Hammond 5H choke, 2 tubes pulled, 37.5mv bias :: Caseys Mods :- Plexi cap, -ve feedback, Dual Rectifier, Blackface, 1 wire Randy Rhoads, Plexi, Metaled Out ModPI Boost, OD Channel Gain Reduction Mod
::: AFD100, DSL100W head (no C83), Fender Champ 12
::: 1960AV 2xgreenbacks 2xG12H30, homemade 2x12 cab 2x Celestion Golds (100W)
::: Gibson Les Paul Standard, Dimarzio SD bridge Pup,Standard neck Pup.
::: Tokai Strat with Dimarzio SD, Epi SG-400 Iommi, Hondo Les Paul, Alhambra Acoustic fishman Pup
::: PodXTLive fully loaded, Vox V848 Clyde McCoy Wah Wah, Korg Pitchblack and Snark Tuners

It's better to fail in Originality than to succeed in Imitation ...

ramonetl
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 11:19 pm

Re: Trouble changing JVM Default Midi Channel to 6 (or other)

Post by ramonetl » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:07 pm

Thanks guys. I have tried the steps listed and that is where i hit the wall. When I do step 5 and hold the midi change button and power on the server it never flashes. I did a reset previously and I know that I configured a marshall footswitch in the past but I can never get it to go to the midi learn step where the midi button should be flashing per step 5 of the post from the marshall handbook the poster listed in that article. Since I cannot get the marshall to the learn point I cannot send a channel 6 message. Any thoughts on that?


1) Send a message from your Ground Control. Does the amp respond? Yes? All good, rock on. No? Go to step 2.

2) Switch the amplifier off (Power switch, not Standby).

3) Press and hold the FOOTSWITCH / MIDI PROGRAM switch.

4) Switch the amplifier on (Power switch).

5) Release the FOOTSWITCH / MIDI PROGRAM switch, the LED will start to flash.

Post Reply